Guac to make your heart go quack

Unfancy Grub

I didn’t put a lot of thought 🤔 into today’s title but you know you win some copies and you mehhh the rest. It’s been a hot minute and while I’m still on a social media hiatus I decided why not just gift the loving six people who have constantly followed HANIELLA’S EATS a new recipe for the month of March.

Avocado crushed up and mixed with spices is known by a lot of names but for today we’d call it Guacamole. While I’m not a huge fan of the green buttery fruit that is an Avocado, Alex is obsessed with it and my new place has a huge avo tree growing just out back, heck the owners deliver a basket filled with the unripe and freshly plucked fruit every other week so Alex is constantly in green paradise.

I decided to deviate from the regular cut it up then serve when it ripens, simply because variety is the spice of life (or something along those lines), so we’ve done Avocado on toast, Avocado Smoothies, Avocado Salsa and Avocado muffins and now it’s time for everyone’s favorite dip Guacamole.

While I didn’t take step by step pictures this is actually a straight forward dump-it-into-the-bowl style recipe that you’d find very easy to follow and like I always advice y’all, feel free to switch up the recipe and adjust to your taste.

Let’s Cook

We’ll need

1 ripe green Avocado

1tsp crushed garlic

Juice of ½ a lemon

1tsp crushed chili pepper

1tbsp white vinegar

2tbsp olive oil (sunflower or peanut works)

Salt to taste

Let’s Prepare

  • Peel the avocado,take out the seed and inner brown flesh if it sticks to your fruit and dump the green stuff into a small mixing bowl.
  • Dump the crushed garlic and chili in with it and mash together with a strong fork.
  • Add olive oil, vinegar and lemon juice alternately in no particular manner and mix, making sure you stop and taste in between, also watching the consistency to make sure you don’t have a runny gooey texture (except that’s what you’re looking for, and I suggest you just dump everything into the blender)
  • Add salt and really that’s about it. Taste and season to fit you.
  • At this point some people (read me) add chopped onions and fresh herbs because I love the extra bite and flavor it adds but the day I took this picture I didn’t have any on hand, plus Alex wanted to eat quick so basic had to cut it, but have all the fun you want, try mustard and mayo for a creamier spread and you’d still enjoy it. Here’s Alex’ favorite part.

Let’s Eat.

Another picture of a crazy plate

Leave a comment